Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Anybody else using this for harm reduction purposes? As in the identification of illicit drugs?

FunnBoiled
    Participant

Hiya Johnboy,

This is the main reason I invested in a Scio Dev kit. It’s something I’m intending to put a serious amount of work into as I think it can really change the world of Harm Reduction.
    My Scio arrived a couple of days ago so I’m just starting out with this project. Currently I have no experience developing and have a rudimentary understanding of the system/processes behind this technology but luckily I have some amazing people around me who are keen to get involved. I would love to work with others around the world to make this a reality.
    Let’s do it!

I have also brought a Scio Dev kit for harm reduction. What materials are you going to be scanning? are you also going to be scanning for rough purity and common cuts?

FunnBoiled
    Participant

I’m still thinking about how to build a good database. I’d like to get data from proper labs who have access or can identify a pure sample, so there is a base data set for all substances to compare against as accessing pure samples illicitly is practically impossible.

From there, yes I would like to build data for common cutting agents & process impurities to determine sample purity.

In terms of what substances I’d be looking at: I’d start with MDMA and it’s numerous impersonators as well as the many things commonly found in “ecstasy”.

That’s a big task in itself, but the data would be applicable to a wider application of identifying almost any drug.

In theory, these should be fairly simple samples to analyse as, with mdma for example, it’s only one chemical, rather than a plant which may contain thousands of different chemicals. Right?

I’m only just starting to get my head around this device so there’s a long way to go before I actually start building a database & model.

Ayelet
    Keymaster

Hi FunnBoiled,