Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    xonath
    Participant

My young daughter as well as being a diabetic also has Celiac disease which is an intolerance to Gluten.

Gluten is found in wheat, rye and barley. As you can imagine those ingredients are hidden in many of todays foods and of course eating out is a nightmare due to risks of contamination.

I know i am biased, but i think it would be amazing if someone could produce an app for the SCIO that detects if gluten is present. I am sure that the detection other intolerances such as nuts or dairy would also have health beneficial uses for the device.

Thanks for listen

Kev

Hi kev

I am a developer on Scio. I would love to develop an app for allergen detection especially for gluten.

But as you may know Scio can miss an ingredient that is less than 1% concentration.

Talking about allergy, This could become a real problem for the user if traces are present but not detected.

The best we could do is to tell The user when gluten is detected for sure. And if anything is not detected we could only say that Scio don’t know.

would this still be helpful ?

rejsharp
    Participant

I think it is clear that SCiO may be able to help with INTOLERANCE issues where the substances are present in reasonably large quantities, and missed traces are not life threatening.
    SCiO must not be used for allergens or toxins where mg/Kg amounts could kill.
    The first step would be to scan known foods with and without gluten to check the possibilities out. The samples may have to be sorted into classes if the noise from a myriad of possible ingredients drowns the gluten signature. (Breads / Cakes / Sweet sauces / Savoury Sauces etc for whatever foods gluten may lurk in)

xonath
    Participant

Absolutely agree,

For my daughter and many others its an intolerance. If she ate say a pizza which is very high in gluten, she is going to have an upset stomach.